Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Newton Abbot RFC app


Presentation Evening

5 months ago By Website Admin

Season 17/18 winners

Last Saturday Newton Abbot “All Whites” filled the on pitch marquee to celebrate the end of another successful season and hand out the hard earned awards.
The Spartans- who won Devon Merit One for the first time in the competition’s twenty five year history had an evening to remember as they collected the Director of Rugby team cup. This was a difficult decision this season as the Ladies XV were unbeaten and promoted from NC South West South 2 and the First XV finished a very creditable fourth in an extremely tough South West Premier Division.
There was further acclaim for the Spartans, Newton’s second team manager, Paul Hooper, was the first to get his name on a new award, the Sue Maclean Cup for the club person showing great commitment. This award was put up by Keith Maclean in memory of his wife who sadly passed away earlier in the year.
The other Spartans’ players to be recognised were Josh Davey who was named Second XV player of the year; Max Wright received the Neil Ashcroft Captain Cup and Alfie Lang was named as the Spartans Clubman of the year.
First XV Winger Kyle Browne picked up a pair of awards; the Glen Loder Trophy went his way as he was the leading try scorer with twenty-four which included six in one match. Browne also collected the Supporter’s shield.
Backrower Josh Vickridge also doubled up, being named as the newcomer with best contribution thus receiving the Graham Rooke Cup. He also got his hands on the John Fogwill trophy after being chosen as the player’s player of the season.
The Coaches Cup for the player showing the most skills went to Cameron Fogden who impressed in his debut season in the First XV. Prop Tom White was considered to be the most improved First teamer and picked up the Chairman’s Cup plus a Merit Tie for 100 appearances. Also collecting Merit Ties were committee members Sarah Brooks and Brian Pilkington.
Jarryd Harris who had another tremendous season at No.8 was handed the Len Taylor Cup which goes to the First XV Player of the Year. Dean Avery presented his Captain’s Cup to Kevin Dennis.
Gordon Hooper followed his son to the presentation table to receive the Terry Yabsley Trophy for the non-playing Clubman of the year. Hooper is no stranger to this award as he was joint winner with his wife Mary back in 1997, and father Ivor got his name on the same trophy in 1990.
The All Whites’ most prestigious award, the Chris Wakeham trophy for the playing clubman of the year, went to long serving prop Lloyd Radford.

Updated 12:49 - 4 Jun 2018 by Website Admin

Where next?

AGM 18 Hear how your club is being run and make any changes

Up your game with easyfundraising

Sat 20 Oct
All Whites Exmouth
League TBC
Spartans Exmouth II
League 14:30
Sat 27 Oct
All Whites Ivybridge
League 14:30
League 14:30

News sponsors


Club sponsors